Westlin’ Winds

Westlin’ Winds is a song written by Robert Burns, that I learned years ago from a Dick Gaughan tape. The video below is me singing it to enjoy the lovely acoustics of the old Methodist Chapel in West Bay, where I’ve been sat on Wednesday  afernoons lately, helping out at Force 8 exhibition.

It’s also the first song I sang in years in front a big group of people who I didn’t know. That was at CAT (Centre for Alternative Technology) when the celebrations for the graduating architecture students coincided with Burns Night. That reminded me how much I love singing in public, although I still find it terrifying!

The amazing drawing behind me in the video is by Jo Burlington, who spent 12 hours in the chapel overnight to draw it, as part of Force 8.

It’s just an iPhone recording, so not the finest quality.

Leave a Reply

